locked Re: Southern Railway divisions

Bill Schafer

Division with HQ location in ().   
Eastern (Greensboro)
Piedmont (Greenville)
Carolina (Asheville)
Georgia (Atlanta)
Coastal (Macon)
Alabama (Birmingham)
Tennessee (Knoxville)
Kentucky (Somerset)
Western (Louisville)
Crescent (Hattiesburg)
Appalachia (Andover)

I think these were the divisions as of the Norfolk Southern merger in June 1982. All divisions were given new names in 1968 - a change from some of the cumbersome titles that resulted from the wholesale division consolidation that occurred in 1964 (“Eastern” is much better than “Danville—Washington-Richmond” and “Carolina” is an improvement on “Asheville-Charleston-Winston Salem). 


Join main@SouthernRailway.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.